Adovia Purifying Dead Sea Mud Mask Review

Mud masks! I like them. Sure, they look scary like in those Hollywood movies of moms sporting green or gray face, cucumbers on their eyes, and hair up in towels. They’re messy, but I feel like I just got out of the spa afterwards.

I don’t wear masks too often, mainly because I’m lazy. That’s it. I am under the impression that I am going to suddenly busy, even before bedtime, so I don’t pamper myself because I need to be ready to go whenever. It’s crazy, I know.

I’ve only ever tried two kinds of facial masks before. One I got during my 18th birthday, which I still have, surprisingly. And another I got last year from Walgreens. It’s the Freeman Feeling Beautiful Facial Clay Mask in Avocado & Oatmeal, and it’s less than $5.

This year, I got a sample from Adovia. They sent me their Purifying Dead Sea Mud Mask, available on Amazon for $19.99 with one-year 100% money back guarantee if the product doesn’t work for you. I was very excited to try it, especially since I already had a sort-of established nightly routine. What was one more product to add in the mix?

Adovia1

WHAT DOES IT DO?

  • Pulls out toxins and unclogs pores so your skin can breathe and rejuvenate naturally
  • Pulls out excess oil while putting in much needed essential minerals from the Dead Sea
  • 100% natural, paraben-free, no added fragrance or color
  • Improves your complexion by reducing blackheads, acne, blemishes and the appearance of acne
  • Supplies nutrients to maintain elasticity and a soft, even texture.
  • Helps with oily skin, acne treatment, blackheads, blemishes, psoriasis, eczema

This product contains Dead Sea mud, aloe vera, and vitamin C–all essential ingredients for the benefits listed above. Straight out of the tube, it looks like mud, or at least newly mixed cement.

41Il3SPYreL

HOW DO I USE IT?

Nothing special required. I do this after I’ve removed my makeup, but before my toner, hyaluronic acid serum, and moisturizer.

I just squeeze a good amount of the mud onto my palm and work it on my clean face using my fingers. I’ve seen pictures of other people using a brush to apply the mud, but that’s doing too much, and I like minimal effort. My hands can do the work. I don’t do this everyday. Just every two or three days so I don’t overwhelm my skin.

I did notice that the first two times I used this mask, I felt really sharp sting on my cheeks. I’m not sure why that happened, but I suspect it was an acne that was starting to develop. You know how you realize you had a cut you never knew you had until you applied sanitizer on your hands? That’s how it felt, but on my face. It hurt a bit, but nothing I couldn’t power through.

The mud hardens quick. Less than 30 seconds on my face and it was starting to look dry. It also feels gritty, so I’m sure it truly exfoliates, unlike my other clay mask that felt smooth on application. The mud mask doesn’t smell like anything either.

I left the mask on for about 15 minutes. The box says to leave it on for 10-20 minutes, so I opted for 15. While that processes, I usually wander off into the living room and watch a bit of Scandal on Netflix. I read somewhere that you’re not supposed to leave clay or mud masks to harden on your face too long, because that’s how you dehydrate your skin and develop fine lines. Counterproductive!

After the 15 minutes, I just head on back to the bathroom sink and rinse my face with warm water. And voila! Smooth, clear skin, ready for toner, serum, and moisturizer.

DOES IT WORK?

For the most part, I believe it does. During nights when I use the mask, I always feel like my face feels tighter the rest of the night. I had one breakout on my chin, which I’ve heard is hormonal, so I won’t blame that on the mud mask or any of the products I’ve used. Probably just from the week off my birth control pills. Other than that, my skin feels and looks so much better than it did a month ago before I started on my nightly routine.

I’ve only used the mask for a week (so three times), so it’s a bit too early to pass a definite verdict. But like I said, so far, so good. I will continue to use the mask, and if anything changes, I will blog about it.


DISCLAIMER

Powered by BrandBacker. I received samples in exchange for an honest review. Opinions expressed here are my own.


One thought on “Adovia Purifying Dead Sea Mud Mask Review

Thoughts?

