Vita Sciences Maxasorb Melatonin Cream Review

I don’t have insomnia or jetlag. But I’m very addicted to staying up late playing Super Mario Bros on my phone, reading books on my phone, gushing at things on Pinterest or Tumblr, or keeping up with friends on Facebook. I can literally spend hours on my phone, underneath the covers just fooling around online. I declared bedtime at 9 pm, but find myself still up at midnight. Not good, especially since I have to be up by 6 am. Girl needs at least eight hours of sleep!

So how do I get a full night’s rest now? The answer: Vita Sciences Maxasorb Melatonin Cream. It retails for $29.95 (currently on sale right now for $19.95!) but I was lucky to have snagged a sample.

MaxasorbWHAT IS IT?

In a nutshell, this product aids in falling asleep faster, reducing daytime fatigue, and keeping the user alert during the day.

Slightly longer version: melatonin is a hormone that regulates sleep and wake cycles. Low melatonin levels is the culprit behind insomnia, DSPS (delayed sleep phase syndrome), and jetlag. As we age, our melatonin levels drop. This cream helps with that.

HOW DO I USE IT?

The cream is really easy to use. It comes from an airless dispenser that pumps out exactly 3 milligrams of melatonin to be applied topically onto the arms and legs.

The 1.7 fl. oz. tube that I received has 60 doses, which I’m pretty sure will last me quite a while.

I apply the cream just before bedtime, at 9. One pump is enough to cover my arms, and then I lie back and read a book until I pass out, which happens less than half an hour from when I applied the cream. No more staying up til midnight!

DOES IT WORK?

The first night I used it, I woke up feeling well-rested. Seven hours of sleep, did not wake up in the middle of the night at all. Unfortunately, I started feeling sluggish by noon. At the time I wasn’t sure if my drowsiness was caused by too much of the melatonin cream but I retraced my steps and realized that before I left my apartment, I had taken an allergy pill that wasn’t non-drowsy.

The next day, after using the melatonin cream again, I decided not to take any allergy pills, non-drowsy or otherwise. I had more energy than yesterday, but noted that I woke up a few times the other night for no reason.

The third night, I doubled the dose of the cream. Instead of just one pump, I tried two pumps and rubbed it all over my arms and my legs. I slept through the night this time. I also took a non-drowsy allergy pill, and noted that I did not feel tired at all during the day. I didn’t feel any more energized than usual, though.

On the fourth night, I used two pumps again for my arms and legs. I did not take an allergy pill during the day. I felt a bit more alert and awake, which was nice because I didn’t even need coffee to feel that way.

VERDICT

The cream actually works. It takes a while for you to really notice a difference in your energy levels, but there will be changes. You just need to make sure that you don’t take anything that could cancel out the cream’s purpose. In my case, it was taking a pill that causes sleepiness. Otherwise, I felt awake during the day because I had enough hours of sleep.


DISCLAIMER

Powered by BrandBacker. I received samples in exchange for an honest review. Opinions expressed here are my own.


Thoughts?

