Bookworm Meme

I stumbled upon this delightful meme while perusing Bookgrrl. So I thought I’d do it, too, as a little get-to-know-the-bookworm-side-of-me thing. If you love reading as much as I do, feel free to copy the questions and blog the answers yourself. And don’t forget to comment with a link to your post. 🙂

Do you snack while reading?

It would depend on where I’m reading. At work, I don’t because I’m reading on a computer during downtime. At home, though, I would be reading on my tablet so there is the likelihood of me munching on something.

What is your favorite drink while reading?

When the reading gets intense, I won’t even bother getting up for a snack. Although, I do enjoy a hot beverage such as vervain tea when I’m reading at home on a rainy night.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Oh, Yoda, I would never! No marks or folds whatsoever. I once lent a college friend my copy of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I was beyond horrified when I saw him dogear a page right in front of me. But that’s just for physical books. My e-books, however, I don’t mind. I upload my epub files onto Google Play Books so I can highlight and make notes while I read.

(c)  Quinn Dombrowski
(c) Quinn Dombrowski

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat?

The wonderful advantage of reading mostly e-books is the apps I use automatically saves my place across all platforms. I can read the novel on my work computer through Google Books, and then continue seamlessly on my phone during my lunch break. With physical books, I will pick up whatever flat object I can find (like a business card, a toothpick, or a receipt) and use it as a makeshift bookmark.

Fiction, non-fiction, or both?

I lean more towards fiction. I did dive into non-fiction earlier this year because Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) was just too intriguing to pass up. After that, I went through half a dozen celebrity memoirs (Chelsea Handler’s, mostly) before I quietly retreated back to my fiction novels.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere?

I try to read to the end of a chapter if I can. It’s just so much easier to remember where I stopped. And I avoid the risk of losing the information I just got because I stopped midstream.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?

I would if I could, but that would destroy my tablet. I just stop reading when it happens. Because I live in such a small house, I try not to overcrowd my space. Now I buy physical books only after I’ve read them and really fell in love with the story. The books on my shelves now have to earn their place. So no throwing. 😛

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?

If I can understand it in context, I probably wouldn’t. And that’s if the book is really gripping and I don’t want to tear myself away. The last time I looked up a word was during Fifty Shades of Grey, when one of the characters used an obscure term for no reason. Then again, the E.L. James seemed like she had way too much fun with a thesaurus while writing her novels.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading Panic by Lauren Oliver. I’m halfway over it, literally and figuratively. It’s teetering on the edge of three stars down to two and a half.

What is the last book you bought?

I finished The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker and The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke recently. I fell in love with those books…and you know what that means. I also did something I dubbed “Free Book Movement” wherein I sent friends a random book based on their preferred genres for free, no strings attached. Half.com made a killing through me last week.

Do you have a favorite place/time to read?

Down time at work, during the weekend, and before bedtime. Reading a book while lying down puts me to sleep.

(c) ht
(c) ht

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones?

Stand-alones. I don’t mind series; they probably take up more than half of my e-library. But there is something about the finality of a stand-alone that I find endearing. For the longest time, my favorite book was A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb. I prayed for a sequel for years until finally, one was released last year. However, it was underwhelming. So now, as much as I wish The Mad Scientist’s Daughter had a sequel, it’s probably best to leave it alone. I do know that Helene Wecker is working on a sequel for The Golem and the Jinni, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it won’t disappoint.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?

It just depends on the reader, really. There are some friends whom I know will enjoy Mindy Kaling’s memoir, and some who won’t, so I adjust my recommendations based on that. The reason I even found The Golem and the Jinni was because of Free Book Movement, as the recipient wanted sci-fi and fantasy, but not young adult. (Did you know it’s almost impossible to find sci-fi/fantasy books that aren’t YA?) So I really took a chance ordering and sending over a book that I had not yet read to someone whose book opinions I actually respect. She will probably receive her book later this week, so I’m praying she’ll love it as much as I did. That’s the risk in recommending your favorite books–you’ll have to be prepared for someone to dismiss it.

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?

Stand-alone books are shelved by the color of their spines. I’m also big on color theory, so I want my shelves to look aesthetically pleasing. Series books like Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, and The Hunger Games, are grouped together.

(c) cloud9design
(c) cloud9design

Barbara’s additional question: background noise or silence?

I don’t mind either one.


Thoughts?

