Chia Chocolate Pudding

I bought a 12 oz. bag of chia seeds during a grocery run at Raley’s a few months ago. From that time until last night, I did not know what to do with the seeds. I heard about them from my office supervisor, who raved about its weight loss qualities. I don’t need to lose weight, but I was intrigued nonetheless. I didn’t know it would be that expensive, though.

One of the things my supervisor told me was that if you immerse chia seeds in water, they expand and form a gel that you can use for smoothies, shakes, or puddings. This expansion is why it’s good for weight loss, since you don’t need to eat or drink too much of it. It keeps you full and hydrated at the same time.

This website lists the top 10 benefits of chia seeds. In a nutshell, chia is considered a superfood because of the following:

  • highest available source of omega-3 fatty acids (good for the heart and anti-inflammatory, boosts metabolism)
  • gluten free
  • high amounts of antioxidants
  • contains a balanced blend of carbohydrates, fats, protein, and fiber to provide strength, which is apt because “chia” is the Mayan word for strength

So, last night, I decided to experiment. I came up with a chia chocolate pudding.

chiapudding

…with a Ghirardelli square. 🙂

It came out great! And I know this because my very picky roommate who doesn’t eat anything unfamiliar shared two servings with me.

With the right ingredients, this could be vegan. However, for the batch I made last night, I used 2% cow’s milk because it was the only milk we had.

RECIPE

Preparation time: 5 minutes

Refrigeration: 1 hour (or however long you prefer)

Ingredients: 1 cup milk (dairy, soy, almond, coconut, whatever you like)
1/4 cup chia seeds (this is what I used)
3 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Dump all the ingredients in a bowl, stir, and stick it in the fridge. That’s it.

Hopefully, I will come up with more recipes. This will help cleanse my and my roommate’s diet. It certainly seems healthy. After all the documentaries we had watched such as Food Inc., and Vegucated, we had both started to wean from fast food and unhealthy, unsustainable food products.

Give it a try. You’ll love it!

Originally posted @ Sage and Poppy on 3.29.13.

Thoughts?

