Misconceptions

Homer, one of my stepdads, took me to Tilly’s one day after having lunch at Buffalo Wild Wings. Since he is an awesome nice guy, he offered to buy me something despite my protests. So after a few minutes of looking around, I set my sights on this one particular soft black coat by Full Tilt. It isn’t a pea coat exactly, but is “60% cotton, 40% polyester”, according to the tag. Very warm, functional, and will go well with pretty much any outfit.

I tried it on and it fit, so we got it. It was on the clearance rack, so it wasn’t overly expensive. All in all, I was happy because I got a nice coat and Homer was happy because I was happy.

Then a few weeks later, I studied the tag. Now, I am a petite person. I am 5’2, 105 lbs. of skinny Asian redhead. My clothes are usually XS or S. This coat, however, is XL.

fulltilt

This has led me to believe that Homer and I had accidentally navigated to the kids’ section of Tilly’s and got me a child’s coat.

Not the first time this has happened. I once attempted to purchase a dress from Abercrombie & Fitch, only to realize later that the dress I was asking about was for tweens, which then justified the odd look that the salesgirl gave me when I asked her if she thought it would fit me.

Embarrassiiiiiiing.

I tried to play it off by telling her it was for my younger big-boned cousin but there was no saving it. I ran out of there the second she turned away.

To be fair, A&F is ridiculously dark. I bet I wasn’t the only person to make that mistake.


For the past few weeks, I had been wondering why I pinked April 30 on the work calendar.

april 30

The blue ones are when my coworker and I switched schedules, but the pink? I just could not remember!

Were we going to have a company potluck? I didn’t think so. Did I request a day off for something important? Doubt it. I would write the reason why.

And then a few days ago, it dawned on me.

april30

You bet your ass I’m wearing pink on Wednesday!


Thoughts?

