The Simplest Bread Pudding Recipe

I found a thing of bread pudding at Safeway last year, and since I had never heard of it, I had to get it. It was gooood. Unfortunately, I never found it again anywhere. So I decided to make my own. It is surprisingly easy, so if you are in the mood to try something new or make use of that loaf of bread before it expires, try this recipe.

breadpudding1


Ingredients

  • loaf of bread – I will use 8 slices in this recipe
  • butter – great if you have a tub because it will depend how much bread you have; otherwise, make sure you have at least a stick
  • eggs – I will use 4 eggs in this recipe
  • milk – 2 cups
  • sugar – 1/2 cup
  • ground cinnamon – 1 teaspoon
  • vanilla – 1 teaspoon

breadpudding2

Line your baking pan with bread. Mine can accommodate four slices of regular French bread for the first layer. You can cut off the crusts and Tetris your bread around so they completely cover the bottom of the pan. Your choice. I didn’t bother doing that.

breadpudding3

Melt some butter to soak the bread with. I used up all that was left in my tub of I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter for the bottom layer.

breadpudding4

Then I used 1/2 a stick for the second layer.

breadpudding5

In a bowl, crack four eggs. During my test run, I used six slices of bread and 3 eggs, which I found to be the perfect consistency after the bake. For this recipe, since I used eight slices of bread, I used four eggs. So based on experience, using half the amount of eggs for how ever many bread slices you use creates the perfect balance.

breadpudding6

Pour in two cups of milk. I used 2% milk.

breadpudding7

Add 1/2 cup of granulated sugar. I’ve read other recipes using brown sugar with great results, so if you want to try that, go ahead. I don’t have brown sugar so I’m using white.

breadpudding8

Add a teaspoon of ground cinnamon.

breadpudding9

And finally, a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

breadpudding10

Then whisk away!

breadpudding11

Pour this mixture on top of the buttered bread. Make sure every piece of bread is coated with the liquid. Press down with a fork or the whisk if you need to. It’s okay if the bread isn’t swimming in the mixture. I don’t think it should anyway.

breadpudding12

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

breadpudding13

Pop your baking pan into the oven, and let it bake for 45 minutes.

breadpudding14

Don’t forget your oven mitts when you take your bread pudding out of the oven! The top will be puffy, like a volcano ready to explode, but it will deflate after a few minutes as it cools.

Let me know how yours turn out, and if you did or used anything different. Good luck! 😀

 


Thoughts?

