NaBloPoMo 2: The Brightest Witch of Her Age

Monday, November 4, 2013
Who is your favourite character of all time?

I love Hermione Granger.

To be honest, though, I wasn’t a huge fan when I read about her when I was 13. Hermione, to me, the know-it-all wet blanket who got in the way of Harry Potter and Ron Weasley’s fun.

But I watched the movie, and I read the rest of the books (1-4 at the time). I changed my mind and let Miss Granger have my heart.

After the second movie came out, I discovered Harry Potter fanfiction. I was a Harry/Hermione fan, but for some reason, stumbled upon a Draco/Hermione piece and never looked back since. Every now and then, I would check Harmione fics, or even venture out into Fred/Hermione territory, but Dramione was my go-to ship.

I didn’t pretend to be a hardcore bookworm or say that I had the bird’s nest hair that she had. But I did appreciate that she was flawed, and I related to that. She wasn’t the pretty female protagonist that I was used to. She was smart, but she wasn’t a beauty queen. I loved that about her. She wasn’t a Mary Sue.

I still love Hermione Granger, years after the end of the books and the films. I will always love Hermione because she is the most real female character I’ve looked up to.

Hermione-Through-the-Years-hermione-granger-27743026-500-413


Thoughts?

