Sunshine Award

Photo by Virginia Sanderson (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vsanderson/)

First award ever! Christina from Polka Dot Heart nominated me for the Sunshine Award, which is très awesome. Thank you, Christina! 😀

The Rules

  • You have to post a picture of the Sunshine award in the blog post.
  • Post 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 wonderful bloggers.
  • Write 11 questions for them to answer.
  • Also let the bloggers you nominated know you have nominated them.

11 Random Facts About Me

  1. I grew up in Cebu, Philippines and moved to Sacramento, CA when I was 20.
  2. My all-time favorite video game is Super Mario. The classic ones; not the 3D or the Kart or whatever else is new. Even now that I have a PS3, I still crave that Nintendo classic.
  3. I cannot play Pac-Man because I get anxiety attacks. I am not kidding.
  4. I have never been on a rollercoaster.
  5. My most embarrassing moment of all time: During a party, I got drunk at my ex-boyfriend’s new girlfriend’s (we’re all cool) house and puked all over the living room and the couch. Her sister took care of me the rest of the night while I was passed out on her (the sister’s) bed.
  6. You know that phrase “It’s like riding a bike; you never forget”? Not true. I got a bike as a birthday present when I was a kid. Started with training wheels, then without training wheels, and rode that thing everyday. Until I fell down and scraped myself so bad. I never got on a bike again. Tried two years ago, and I just couldn’t get past two pedals. So now, I no longer know how to ride a bike. *world implodes*
  7. I can’t swim either. I can float, but only on my stomach. So I pretty much resemble a drowned corpse when I’m in the water.
  8. I will and have eaten balut, lansiao (bull’s balls/Soup #5), chicken intestines, cow tongue, and pig’s blood–but you can never pay me enough to eat licorice.
  9. I enjoy doing Dru’s homework–math, art history, art projects, scientific illustrations, etc.
  10. I majored in both Mass Communication and Graphic Design.
  11. You will never see me wear kitten heels. It’s either flats or at least 3-inch heels. None of that kitten heel business.

11 Questions I Was Asked

  1. What made you start blogging? A few people from the school paper that I was a part of joined Tabulas back in 2004. I joined the bandwagon, and realized that I enjoyed it so much. I then moved on to Livejournal, Multiply, Sitesled (handcoded my own website then), and was hosted at a few bloggers’ domains. I purchased YourPaperHeart.net in 2009 for a web design class and kept that domain until August this year, when I let it expire. Now I’m in WordPress almost 10 years later.
  2. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? I will be 30 by then, so I really hope I’m already a wife and a mother.
  3. What are your top 3 favorite colors? Turquoise, coral, cream.
  4. What is your favorite place you’ve traveled to? Universal Studios. I want to go back.
  5. What is your favorite season? Summer. As a girl from a tropical island, the summer is the closest to what I had at home.
  6. What is your favorite type of blog to read (lifestyle, fashion, mommy, etc)? Lifestyle. I can’t quite relate to mommy blogs because I’m not one. I don’t really care much about fashion. Lifestyle blogs, when done right, offer me an interesting glimpse into another person’s life. I learn recipes, DIYs, uncluttering techniques, etc.
  7. If you could be any animal, what would you be? Scorpion. They look awesome, they’re lethal, and incredibly resilient.
  8. Do you believe you match your zodiac sign? I don’t believe in astrology. It’s a prime example of the Barnum/Fohrer effect. I’d like to think I’m unique, and subscribing to the belief that we are all just a jumble of shapes from 12 cookie cutters doesn’t sit well with me. I do find it amusing when my friends launch themselves into an extensive conversation about their signs and horoscopes.
  9. What is your biggest fear? Abandonment. I have serious issues. I cannot handle being left behind. I get very depressed when I go through break-ups, to the point where I get really bad anxiety attacks.
  10. What are some of your favorite hobbies? I spend way too much time online. I don’t really have hobbies.
  11. What is something you’ve accomplished that you were proud of? For now, I’m glad I got my AA and BA. But I know I can do better.

I Nominate…

My 11 Questions For the Nominees

  1. How did you come up with your blog name/domain name?
  2. What is one of your pet peeves?
  3. If you were a child of any celebrity (single, couple, your choice), who would your parent/parents be?
  4. What is your favorite song?
  5. Do you believe in aliens?
  6. What is one app you’d recommend to anyone?
  7. What is your favorite scent?
  8. Of all the cellphones you’ve owned, which one is your favorite?
  9. What is your favorite dessert?
  10. It is raining outside, and you are under a warm blanket with a cup of tea and a book in your hand. What would that book be?
  11. If you could get rid of one national holiday, what would that holiday be?

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

Thoughts?

