I Did A Cady Heron During Halloween 2009

“In Girl World, Halloween is the one night a year when a girl can dress like a total slut and no other girls can say anything about it.”

– Cady Heron (Mean Girls)

Remember that scene in Mean Girls? (WHAT? You haven’t seen Mean Girls???)

While Regina, Gretchen, and Karen, simply donned skimpy outfits and animal ears, Cady showed up as the bride of Frankenstein. Not a sexed up version either, which most girls do with almost any character or outfit these days. I’m looking at you, Jessica Nigri.

#heygirlhey
#heygirlhey

To be fair, that was back in 2009 when I didn’t have friends and didn’t go out. Me, my sister, Momc, and Homer stayed home and gave out Halloween candies.

Not once did it ever cross my mind to dress sexy. It was my first Halloween ever; we didn’t go trick or treating or do Halloween parties in the Philippines. My goal was to look scary, which was what I thought Halloween was about costume-wise.

So I dressed like this...
So I dressed like this…

It’s not cute.

You don’t understand–I tried to look super scary.

I did my own makeup, which was basically smokey red eyes and drawn-on stitches across my face to simulate the ragdoll zombie look of Sally from The Nightmare Before Christmas (don’t you dare say you haven’t seen that, too!)

Children were scared (I think). But most of them were amused by the vixen-like leopard jumpsuit that Momc had on. My sister dressed as a witch, but she didn’t put creepy makeup on. Homer was a killer butcher complete with a mask, a knife that had red liquid in it to look bloody, and an apron. In my opinion, Homer and I deserve the awards that night for keeping true to the spirit of Halloween.

So, you see, if I had gone out to a club or a party, I would’ve been that one girl who “didn’t get it”.

You can't sit with us!
You can’t sit with us!

Cady’s excuse for her ignorance is her African upbringing. I imagine they don’t do Halloween like the Americans do. So… #same. Filipinos don’t do sexy Halloween. We have “news” specials during the weekend where instead of actual news, they report scary stories about possessions, supernatural creature sightings, manananggal, white ladies, etc. That is the highlight of Philippine Halloween.

Of course, then I got friends and realized I did Halloween “wrong”. So I dressed up as slave Leia (If you haven’t seen Star Wars, we can’t be friends) and Baby Doll from Sucker Punch–which I wrote about here–the following years after.

I was a zombie fairy in my past life, you guys.
I was a zombie fairy in my past life, you guys.

Now that Halloween season is upon us, I am at a loss. I have no costume ideas. I might not even go anywhere, and to that I’m not bothered much.

What has been your best and worst Halloween costumes? Will you be donning one this year?

Credit: Mean Girls images from The Jane Dough


One thought on “I Did A Cady Heron During Halloween 2009

Thoughts?

