Mmmm…Dirty Ice Cream! (Promptober #1)

Promptober #1: ice cream flavor

Dirty ice cream

Back home, we didn’t have ice cream trucks. We had ice cream carts. And we call that treat “dirty ice cream”, because they were literally being sold along streets. It comes in the usual flavors like chocolate, strawberry, ube, and macapuno. Sometimes the vendor offers sprinkles or fudge. It’s not high quality ice cream, but kids love it.

Is it hygienic? Meh. Some vendors don’t use gloves when they handle the cone. The ice cream is being scooped in the middle of traffic. So…not really hygienic.

Some rights reserved by Peanuttt
Some rights reserved by Peanuttt

But we grew up with the dirty ice cream, and so far we haven’t died from it. It’s been 5 years since I had one. I miss it.

Sea Salt Caramel Gelato (Talenti)

Recently, I discovered the sweet and salty goodness of Talenti‘s sea salt caramel gelato as I was perusing through the ice cream aisle at Sprouts. Safeway, Raley’s, and Target also carry this flavor. For $5, guys!

I am so glad to have found this review (with delicious pictures!) by The Ice Cream Informant, because I can’t even find the right words to describe how beyond heavenly this treat is. I love their simple packaging, too–minimalist design with a screw on top for convenience. And another caveat: it is gluten-free, HFCS free, hormone-free, vegetarian, and Kosher. Yes!!!

(c)
(c) The Ice Cream Informant

I haven’t tried any other Talenti flavors because their sea salt caramel is more than enough for me.

Cinnamon Buns (Ben & Jerry’s)

I like cinnamon rolls. My stepdad Homer used to bake them a lot, and he’d smother those sweet rolls in so much cream cheese. Absolutely delicious. There is nothing quite as heartwarming and comforting as the scent of warm, freshly-baked cinnamon rolls.

So when I chanced upon Ben & Jerry’s Cinnamon Buns ice cream, I felt like I hit the jackpot. Of course, The Ice Cream Informant has a review on it as well.

Ben & Jerry's Cinnamon Buns
(c) The Ice Cream Informant

So far, the only nearby store I found that carries this flavor is the Safeway on Elkhorn Blvd. in Antelope, CA.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?


If you are participating in Promptober 2013, add your link for day 1 here:

Promptober 2013


9 thoughts on “Mmmm…Dirty Ice Cream! (Promptober #1)

  1. My favorite flavor has been chocolate chip cookie dough, but cinnamon buns might give it a run for its money. I’ll have to find that flavor somewhere.

    1. Cinnamon Buns is a must try for sure. I used to enjoy chocolate chip cookie dough, but after I started working for a bakery, I’ve wanted less and less to do with the flavor.

    1. It is absolutely delicious! Gorgeous caramel color, with smooth texture that melts in your mouth… I wish I had some right now. I hope you find it at a store near you. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh! Ben and Jerry’s! I’ve only tried the chocolate-chip cookie dough flavor, and it was pure bliss (and quite pricey here). I lurve Salted Caramel Flavored Ice Cream/Gelato.
    **salivating**

    1. Ironically, I haven’t head B&J’s chocolate chip cookie dough. I try to stay away from the regular/common flavors and go for the novelty ones. But in time I’ll get to the classics.

      Salted caramel anything always has my heart.

    1. Right?! πŸ˜€

      I was dismayed during my recent trip to Safeway and found that they were out of Sea Salt Caramel. All the other inferior flavors and brands just don’t cut it.

Thoughts?

