trente-neuf

Blogtember topic for the day: Write a public love letter to someone in your life. (It doesn’t necessarily need to be romantic.)

Dear AH,

Do you remember the first time we said “I love you” to each other?

We were in the kitchen. You were leaning against the stove, and I was snuggling up to you. I don’t remember when that was exactly, or what we were doing, but we were laughing and enjoying each other’s proximity.

Back then, we used to say “gay shit” for anything romantic or sweet. We couldn’t say the right words, because we were new and we weren’t sure if our feelings were real.

So while I was nestled within your arms, I playfully said, “Gay shit…”

You teased me then. You thought it was funny that I couldn’t say it, and if I actually would.

It sobered me up. I felt a tightness in my chest and a lump in my throat. My entire body warmed, and I struggled not to let the tears overtake me. It took a lot of strength to look you in the eyes and whisper, “I love you.”

Then you said, “I love you, too.” And you kissed me so sincerely, softly. There has never been another moment in my life that has upstaged the fireworks I felt at that moment. It was simple and unplanned. That’s how I know it can never be equaled.

I await the day you will sincerely tell me those words again.

Waiting,
SC




One thought on “trente-neuf

Thoughts?

