The Easiest Homemade Chicken Pot Pie in 1 Hour

It’s flu season, and I unfortunately caught it. I was already a week into battling a dry cough when I visited my doctor and got flu and tetanus shots. Sneaking in the shots helped none. In fact, I got full-on flu for another week after my visit.

So I turned to home remedy…besides dosing up on Dayquil, Nyquil, Robitussin, and Cuties.

I have never made any sort of pie in my entire life, so a cursory thought spelled IMPOSSIBLE! to me. But I soon found myself at the grocery store, shopping for chicken pot pie ingredients.

I looked up a variety of pot pie recipes on this app on my phone, and while each of them boasted being “simple” or “quick”, I knew I could simplify the recipe and quicken the process a bit more.

Here is what I got:

  • chicken breast tenders
  • 1 can of cream of chicken
  • 1 bag of mixed vegetables
  • 1 package of ready-made 9″ pie crust (the flaky kind, not the graham ones used for cheesecakes)
  • 9″ cake pan
  • 2 chicken broth bouillons (optional)

Step 1

Poach the chicken. Poach, not boil–and here is why. I had a ton of packaged chicken tenders in my freezer, but I wanted fresher chicken, which I got from the meat aisle at the store. To poach, simply fill a pot with water and set it on the stove until it starts to boil. You can either leave the water as is or add seasonings like salt, pepper, herbs, bouillons, etc. Once the water starts to boil, turn the stove off and move the pot onto another burner. Don’t leave it on that hot surface. Carefully place the pieces of chicken in the pot. Cover it with a lid, and let it sit for 10-15 minutes.

Step 2

Mix the cream of chicken and vegetables in a bowl. I used half a bag of mixed veggies, since there was so much cream of chicken and chicken tenders for a 9-inch pan. The poached chicken should be ready by now. Remove them from the pot and cut them up into cubes or whatever size and shape you prefer. Add them to the mixture.

Step 3

I used one of the Pillsbury ready-made pie crusts that you unroll onto a pan. There are two rolls in one pack. One goes at the bottom. Pour the mixture from step 2 into the pan. Smooth the top with a spoon, and then cover it with the other pie crust. Press the bottom and top doughs together so they close. Cut a slit or four through the top crust. At this point, you can design the edge of the crust however you want. I used a fork and pressed the tines against the edge, just because I had time while the oven preheated, which brings me to…

Step 4

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pop the pan in and set the timer for 45 minutes.

Once that’s done, you should have tasty chicken pot pie that you made in an hour!

Apologies for the quick snapshot. I hadn’t planned on blogging about my recipe when I made it. This was the photo I sent to my friend after the baking process. Notice the cough syrup?
Apologies for the quick snapshot. I hadn’t planned on blogging about my recipe when I made it. This was the photo I sent to my friend after the baking process. Notice the cough syrup?
Originally posted @ Sage and Poppy on 1.28.13.

Thoughts?